Like DUI, domestic violence is taken very seriously in Nevada and can carry stiff consequences. It doesn't just have to be violence between blood or marital relatives; slapping your girlfriend is domestic violence in Nevada. And once the police become involved, somebody is usually hauled off to jail. That means missing work and eating some of the worst food you'll ever have the misfortune of tasting.
A first offense imposes penalties of anywhere from 2 days to 6 months in county jail and is on probation. A second offense stiffens the jail time to anywhere from 10 days to a year. And, a third offense is a felony with mandatory imprisonment of at least one (1) year in the state prison.
But that's not all. Counseling, fines, and court costs can also be, and are usually, required of you. Worse still, a judge can issue a protective order against you, without evidence and without affording you the opportunity to defend yourself. Depending on your family situation, that could keep you from returning home and away from your children.
The Law Office of Warren G. Freeman is knowledgeable and experienced in dealing with domestic violence cases and temporary protective orders. If you have been charged with domestic violence, call our office immediately to set up a consultation. You need to move quickly to protect your rights and to give yourself the best defense against the prosecution and against the extension of any temporary protective order.